A dark dream

I didn’t know what had woke me up.
I looked around into the dark night.
The broken glass on the window pane
Lit up by stars in the dark skies.
The trees in the distant horizon
Look like a dark stroke of the brush.

James Sutton on Unsplash

The ceiling fan on the high roof
Creaking and grinding in protest
Serves to wake up more than cool.
My throat is parched and my head hurts
The air in the room has ceased to flow
I raise the mosquito net and step outside
Fumble with the latch in the dark.
With a crash the bolt slides in the lock
Pulling a bit of finger skin too.
The door creaks on the rusted hinge
And swings out as the breeze is sucked in.

Benjamin Huggett on Unsplash

I step out into the pitch dark night
The air feels cool on my sweaty hair.
I walk few steps on the dusty path
And sit down on the rusted bench.
Feet tap dances on unsteady tiles,
Time stands still like a stagnant stream.
Words loose meaning on the long lost trail,
Paths falter in search of broken dreams.

Ralph Darabos on Unsplash

The herd has run on nubile grounds,
Leaving the stragglers and dreamers behind.
The grass grazed clean by the runners,
The tired souls killed by their greedy mind.
And then it comes to me again
The sound that woke me from my sleep.

Harald Pliessnig on Unsplash

A drum beats somewhere in the dark
From the side of the village stream.
And another starts its drumming beat
The beat that woke me from my dream.
I raise my eyes on the path to the stream
The woods look dark on the pathway
I see some small light flickering within
Are those fireflies or fires going thin,
Or are they lost souls just like mine!

Vasily Kozorez on Unsplash

27 Comments Add yours

  1. Aintamuggle says:

    Your writing feels too real, like some portions I actually felt them when I read it.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Deb says:

      Thank you so much, this is a very kind thing to say and inspires me to try and write more 🙂🙏

      Like

  2. oh I love the visuals of this poem Deb. Such beautiful words strung together.
    and that end line soooo good.
    “I see some small light flickering within
    Are those fireflies or fires going thin,
    Or are they lost souls just like mine!”
    Great pics to match!💖

    Like

    1. Deb says:

      Thank you Cindy 💖 I am really so happy that the words and visuals struck a chord. I always have a fascination with fireflies, there used to be many where my childhood was spent, and I used to imagine all kind of things while watching them 🙂
      I am most thankful to the great work made available generously by the various artists at sites like Unsplash.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Oh what a special memory Deb and it was my pleasure. Oh it was a great match to your poetry for sure. Happy Sunday❣️

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Deb says:

        There was a night I spent on a deserted railway station long back. Before sleep came, I could hear drums playing in a nearby village. There were some woods in that direction and there were the usual fireflies twinkling in the dark. So you see Cindy, this is just a recollection of that night 🙂
        I wish you a very happy Sunday too, and a great week ahead.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh how lovely💖💖💖
        The viswual is beautiful. Thanks so much❣️

        Liked by 1 person

  3. ashok says:

    Maybe it was a dark dream
    But it is narrated so well
    And such is life – just a dream
    A mixture of light and shadows.
    And I hope and pray that our dear Deb
    Dreams only of love, joy and beauty 💖🤗

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Deb says:

      Thank you Ashokji 💖
      I do have dark dreams, but those are inadvertantly about matriculation exams and maths 😀
      This was drawn from my experience of a night spent in a deserted railway station near Assam and Arunachal border. The facilities were unused and dusty and after trying for sleep unsuccessfully I pulled an easy chair to the platform and slept there peacefully. There was a tribal village at a distance and they were playing on their drums. Before sleep came It felt very ethereal at that time.
      Thanks for your blessings Ashokji, I feel very fortunate 🙏

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ashok says:

        So wow Deb. Seeing NE India is so much in my wish list.

        I used to love listening to tribal drums and singing at night at Ranchi in 70s💖💖

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Deb says:

        NE is splendid Ashokji, much unexplored places are still there.
        The tribal singing and drums in Ranchi sounds so interesting, didn’t know about them. I had also heard of similar customs amongst the Santhal community in MP.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. ashok says:

        😊🌹

        Like

  4. Dreams, depict life’s shadow play of darkness and light. Your words draw out such a strong imagery that I could visualize the entire sequence unfold before me Deb.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Deb says:

      Thank you Radhika! This is actually recollection from memories of a night spent in a deserted railway station in Assam. There was a village nearby, late at night they were playing drums – it’s pretty customary in a tribal village there. The dark night, the breeze, those faraway drum beats carried by the wind and the ever present fireflies during those days, I was just recollecting a beautiful night 🙂

      Like

  5. skipread says:

    You got real talent. beautifully written!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Deb says:

      Oh! Thank you so much for those very kind words, they do inspire me to try and write more. Thank you again 🙏

      Like

  6. Hauntingly beautiful, Deb. And your choice of photos is perfect! 🌞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Deb says:

      Thank you so much Lisa. I was recollecting a night spent in a deserted railway station in North eastern India, in a remote location. The rooms were not very well kept and I had to sleep outside. There was a village at some distance where some drums were being played in the night. As the breeze lulled me to sleep the whole experience felt very enchanting.
      My childhood was spent in very remote locations and amidst a lot of nature and open spaces, unlike my present in a metro, and I often reminisce on those times.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks for sharing the back story, Deb! I, too, grew up in a rural setting, moved to a busy urban setting as a young adult, and decided after 11 years of all that concrete, traffic, & overcrowdedness that I needed to return to a more rural environment. I think I’m a bit older than you, so maybe you will do the same at some point in the future. 🌞

        Like

  7. Beautiful imagery. Well-chosen and very atmospheric photos. Lovely post, Deb! I like the ending! It sounds like you had quite an adventure! ❤ Pleasant dreams, Deb! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Deb says:

      Thank you so much Cheryl for the kind compliments 💖 so glad you enjoyed the poem, which is a rendition of a real life incident with some poetic license 🙂
      My dark dreams almost always start and end with my fear of mathematics during school days, otherwise most of them are pleasant enough 🙂
      Have a great week Cheryl.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. neelstoria says:

    So what was it that rattled your sleep? Was it a bad dream or something that was real.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Deb says:

      As you have already read about it I won’t go off like a broken record again 😀

      Like

  9. neelstoria says:

    Just read your responses to other people. So, don’t take the trouble to write again. 😀
    But I think those experiences call for an elaborate story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Deb says:

      The experience was ethereal, truely. I am not much of a word warrior to be able to express completely what it felt like, but it’s worth trying sometime, that’s true.

      Like

  10. Well written, Deb. I could just feel it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Deb says:

      Thank you so much Teri 🙂 glad that you liked it.

      Like

Leave a comment